The India Power Atlas
Part IX · External Actors
Chapter 37

Western Media, Academia, Philanthropy and Rights Bodies

Arena 8.1 · weight 4.23 · reading 18.1 · opposed majority

37.1Scope

Western news media, Western academia, private foundations, ratings agencies and index producers, the UN human-rights system and allied networks.

Principal evidence: Mean of three contests: how India is judged abroad (Hindutva 11%; indices, UN, foreign media, M12/M6), whose experts are cited (11%, M7) and where Western philanthropic money goes (₹1 cr Hindutva-coded vs ₹15,413 cr subversive-coded, 2015-26, M1).

37.2Significance

How India is assessed abroad; investor and diplomatic sentiment; and the funding and framing available to domestic actors who oppose Hindutva-aligned positions.

37.3Indicators and weights

Table 37.1 lists the 4 indicators of the arena, the weight of each within the arena, and each indicator’s reading (the Hindutva-aligned share, from 0 to 100).

Table 37.1. Indicators of arena 8.1

IndicatorWeightReading
Narrative: foreign media, index sourcing, UN10.3018.3
Western philanthropy (funder-level expected value)20.253.2
Whose experts are cited0.257.2
Gatekeeping: share of the foreign-money channel the State has shut30.2050.2
Arena reading1.0018.1

37.4Reading

The arena reads 18.1, 31.9 points below parity, and is classified as opposed majority (a reading below 45). With a weight of 4.23 of a total 107.7, it contributes 0.71 points to the composite reading of 45.7.

The indicators diverge: the highest reading is for gatekeeping: share of the foreign-money channel the State has shut (50.2), the lowest for Western philanthropy (funder-level expected value) (3.2).

Figure 37.1. Readings of arena 8.1 by indicator
050100
Narrative: foreign media, index sourcing, UN18.3
Western philanthropy (funder-level expected value)3.2
Whose experts are cited7.2
Gatekeeping: share of the foreign-money channel the State has shut50.2
Arena reading18.1
Hindutva-alignedOpposed

Each bar divides the indicator between Hindutva-aligned (left) and opposed (right) holdings. The vertical rule marks parity.

37.5Measures and exhibits

The exhibits below are the Atlas’s own views of the data behind each measure: shares by side, the largest units, breakdowns by source, recipient and country, money-flow diagrams and time series. Full row-level ledgers are in the data file (Appendix D).

Measure 1. Narrative: foreign media, index sourcing, UN

Reading 18.3%

g_left_units.csv

Figure 37.2. How the index makers score India (all on a 0-100 scale)Freedom House (0-100), V-Dem liberal democracy (0-1, ×100), EIU Democracy Index (0-10, ×10). Their sources are 92% Opposed-camp (Atlas M12).
0204060802010201520202025Freedom House 2010: 76Freedom House 2011: 76Freedom House 2012: 77Freedom House 2013: 76Freedom House 2014: 77Freedom House 2015: 78Freedom House 2016: 77Freedom House 2017: 77Freedom House 2018: 77Freedom House 2019: 75Freedom House 2020: 71Freedom House 2021: 67Freedom House 2022: 66Freedom House 2023: 66Freedom House 2024: 66Freedom House 2025: 63Freedom House 2026: 62V-Dem ×100 2010: 53.2V-Dem ×100 2011: 53.2V-Dem ×100 2012: 52.5V-Dem ×100 2013: 52.2V-Dem ×100 2014: 48.8V-Dem ×100 2015: 41.7V-Dem ×100 2016: 40.6V-Dem ×100 2017: 37.1V-Dem ×100 2018: 36.3V-Dem ×100 2019: 32.4V-Dem ×100 2020: 29.2V-Dem ×100 2021: 30.7V-Dem ×100 2022: 29.1V-Dem ×100 2023: 27.3V-Dem ×100 2024: 28.1V-Dem ×100 2025: 26EIU ×10 2010: 72.8EIU ×10 2011: 73EIU ×10 2012: 75.2EIU ×10 2013: 76.9EIU ×10 2014: 79.2EIU ×10 2015: 77.4EIU ×10 2016: 78.1EIU ×10 2017: 72.3EIU ×10 2018: 72.3EIU ×10 2019: 69EIU ×10 2020: 66.1EIU ×10 2021: 69.1EIU ×10 2022: 70.4EIU ×10 2023: 71.8EIU ×10 2024: 72.9EIU ×10 2025: 69.669.66226
Freedom HouseV-Dem ×100EIU ×10
Data table
Freedom HouseV-Dem ×100EIU ×10
20107653.272.8
20117653.273
20127752.575.2
20137652.276.9
20147748.879.2
20157841.777.4
20167740.678.1
20177737.172.3
20187736.372.3
20197532.469
20207129.266.1
20216730.769.1
20226629.170.4
20236627.371.8
20246628.172.9
2025632669.6
202662
Figure 37.3. Hindutva-aligned vs opposed, counted rows (citations (of 545))
Hindutva-aligned 0 citations (of 545) · 0.0%Opposed 97 citations (of 545) · 17.8%Transactional 0 citations (of 545) · 0.0%Neutral / not counted 448 citations (of 545) · 82.2%
Data table
citations (of 545)Share
Hindutva-aligned00.0%
Opposed9717.8%
Transactional00.0%
Neutral / not counted44882.2%
Figure 37.4. The 12 biggest of 12 (citations (of 545))
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Indian mainstream media (unaudited) (MSM)206
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Indian official / court (OFF)107
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW6)51
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: LW-provisional media (LWM)44
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Foreign media (FMED)42
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Technical / platform (TECH)26
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Unclassified (UNC)25
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Academic / think tank (ACAD)23
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Indian official / court (COURT)18
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW10)1
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW7)1
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Development NGO (DEV)1
OpposedNeutral / not counted
Data table
citations (of 545)Side
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Indian mainstream media (unaudited) (MSM)206Neutral / not counted
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Indian official / court (OFF)107Neutral / not counted
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW6)51Opposed
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: LW-provisional media (LWM)44Opposed
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Foreign media (FMED)42Neutral / not counted
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Technical / platform (TECH)26Neutral / not counted
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Unclassified (UNC)25Neutral / not counted
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Academic / think tank (ACAD)23Neutral / not counted
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Indian official / court (COURT)18Neutral / not counted
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW10)1Opposed
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW7)1Opposed
Freedom House, Freedom on the Net 2024: Development NGO (DEV)1Neutral / not counted
Figure 37.5. Hindutva-aligned vs opposed, counted rows (submissions (of 72))
Hindutva-aligned 0 submissions (of 72) · 0.0%Opposed 64 submissions (of 72) · 88.9%Transactional 0 submissions (of 72) · 0.0%Neutral / not counted 8 submissions (of 72) · 11.1%
Data table
submissions (of 72)Share
Hindutva-aligned00.0%
Opposed6488.9%
Transactional00.0%
Neutral / not counted811.1%
Figure 37.6. The 13 biggest of 13 (submissions (of 72))
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW6)26
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW10)11
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW2)10
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW5)9
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Academic / think tank (ACAD)3
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Development NGO (DEV)3
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW8)3
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW4)2
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Pakistan-linked (PAK)1
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW1)1
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW7)1
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Unclassified (UNC)1
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Indian official / court (OFF)1
OpposedNeutral / not counted
Data table
submissions (of 72)Side
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW6)26Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW10)11Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW2)10Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW5)9Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Academic / think tank (ACAD)3Neutral / not counted
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Development NGO (DEV)3Neutral / not counted
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW8)3Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW4)2Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Pakistan-linked (PAK)1Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW1)1Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW7)1Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Unclassified (UNC)1Neutral / not counted
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 3: Indian official / court (OFF)1Neutral / not counted
Figure 37.7. Hindutva-aligned vs opposed, counted rows (submissions (of 70))
Hindutva-aligned 0 submissions (of 70) · 0.0%Opposed 60 submissions (of 70) · 85.7%Transactional 0 submissions (of 70) · 0.0%Neutral / not counted 10 submissions (of 70) · 14.3%
Data table
submissions (of 70)Share
Hindutva-aligned00.0%
Opposed6085.7%
Transactional00.0%
Neutral / not counted1014.3%
Figure 37.8. The 12 biggest of 12 (submissions (of 70))
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW6)26
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW5)13
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: Development NGO (DEV)7
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW10)7
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW2)4
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW1)3
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW4)3
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW7)2
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: Academic / think tank (ACAD)2
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: Pakistan-linked (PAK)1
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW8)1
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: Indian official / court (OFF)1
OpposedNeutral / not counted
Data table
submissions (of 70)Side
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW6)26Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW5)13Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: Development NGO (DEV)7Neutral / not counted
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW10)7Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW2)4Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW1)3Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW4)3Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW7)2Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: Academic / think tank (ACAD)2Neutral / not counted
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: Pakistan-linked (PAK)1Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW8)1Opposed
UPR stakeholder submissions (cycle) 4: Indian official / court (OFF)1Neutral / not counted
Figure 37.9. Hindutva-aligned vs opposed, counted rows (mentions (of 269))
Hindutva-aligned 21 mentions (of 269) · 7.8%Opposed 70 mentions (of 269) · 26.0%Transactional 0 mentions (of 269) · 0.0%Neutral / not counted 178 mentions (of 269) · 66.2%
Data table
mentions (of 269)Share
Hindutva-aligned217.8%
Opposed7026.0%
Transactional00.0%
Neutral / not counted17866.2%
Figure 37.10. The 14 biggest of 14 (mentions (of 269))
US State Dept IRF 2023: Indian official / court (COURT)77
US State Dept IRF 2023: Unclassified (UNC)50
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW5)45
US State Dept IRF 2023: RW-default orgs (RW)21
US State Dept IRF 2023: Indian official / court (OFF)21
US State Dept IRF 2023: Foreign media (FMED)12
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW6)11
US State Dept IRF 2023: Indian mainstream media (unaudited) (MSM)11
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW4)9
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW10)4
US State Dept IRF 2023: Academic / think tank (ACAD)3
US State Dept IRF 2023: Development NGO (DEV)3
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW2)1
US State Dept IRF 2023: Foreign govt / IGO (FGOV)1
Hindutva-alignedOpposedNeutral / not counted
Data table
mentions (of 269)Side
US State Dept IRF 2023: Indian official / court (COURT)77Neutral / not counted
US State Dept IRF 2023: Unclassified (UNC)50Neutral / not counted
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW5)45Opposed
US State Dept IRF 2023: RW-default orgs (RW)21Hindutva-aligned
US State Dept IRF 2023: Indian official / court (OFF)21Neutral / not counted
US State Dept IRF 2023: Foreign media (FMED)12Neutral / not counted
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW6)11Opposed
US State Dept IRF 2023: Indian mainstream media (unaudited) (MSM)11Neutral / not counted
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW4)9Opposed
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW10)4Opposed
US State Dept IRF 2023: Academic / think tank (ACAD)3Neutral / not counted
US State Dept IRF 2023: Development NGO (DEV)3Neutral / not counted
US State Dept IRF 2023: LW-default rights & advocacy orgs (LW2)1Opposed
US State Dept IRF 2023: Foreign govt / IGO (FGOV)1Neutral / not counted
Figure 37.11. The 15 biggest of 234 (communication (count))
UN SP IND 12/2026 (18 Aug 2026)1
UN SP IND 11/2026 (30 Jul 2026)1
UN SP IND 10/2026 (28 Jul 2026)1
UN SP IND 2/2026 (11 May 2026)1
UN SP IND 8/2026 (01 May 2026)1
UN SP IND 7/2026 (23 Apr 2026)1
UN SP IND 6/2026 (09 Apr 2026)1
UN SP IND 3/2026 (31 Mar 2026)1
UN SP IND 5/2026 (30 Mar 2026)1
UN SP IND 1/2026 (03 Feb 2026)1
UN SP IND 11/2025 (17 Nov 2025)1
UN SP IND 10/2025 (16 Oct 2025)1
UN SP IND 9/2025 (22 Sep 2025)1
UN SP IND 8/2025 (05 Sep 2025)1
UN SP IND 6/2025 (10 Jul 2025)1
Data table
communication (count)Side
UN SP IND 12/2026 (18 Aug 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 11/2026 (30 Jul 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 10/2026 (28 Jul 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 2/2026 (11 May 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 8/2026 (01 May 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 7/2026 (23 Apr 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 6/2026 (09 Apr 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 3/2026 (31 Mar 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 5/2026 (30 Mar 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 1/2026 (03 Feb 2026)1Opposed
UN SP IND 11/2025 (17 Nov 2025)1Opposed
UN SP IND 10/2025 (16 Oct 2025)1Opposed
UN SP IND 9/2025 (22 Sep 2025)1Opposed
UN SP IND 8/2025 (05 Sep 2025)1Opposed
UN SP IND 6/2025 (10 Jul 2025)1Opposed
Figure 37.12. Hindutva-aligned vs opposed, counted rows (endnote citations in OHCHR summary)
Hindutva-aligned 0 endnote citations in OHCHR summary · 0.0%Opposed 204 endnote citations in OHCHR summary · 32.6%Transactional 0 endnote citations in OHCHR summary · 0.0%Neutral / not counted 422 endnote citations in OHCHR summary · 67.4%
Data table
endnote citations in OHCHR summaryShare
Hindutva-aligned00.0%
Opposed20432.6%
Transactional00.0%
Neutral / not counted42267.4%
Figure 37.13. The 15 biggest of 138 (endnote citations in OHCHR summary)
UPR cycle 3: the Working Group on Human Rights in India and the UN (WGHR) - a national coalition of 1228
UPR cycle 4: Amnesty International, London (United Kingdom)24
UPR cycle 4: Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative20
UPR cycle 4: Human Rights Watch, Geneva (Switzerland)17
UPR cycle 3: Human Rights Watch, Geneva, Switzerland16
UPR cycle 3: Amnesty International, London, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland15
UPR cycle 3: Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact, Chiang Mai, Thailand,13
UPR cycle 4: National Campaign on Dalit Human Rights, New Delhi (India)12
UPR cycle 4: The World Evangelical Alliance10
UPR cycle 3: Partners for Law in Development9
UPR cycle 3: Indian American Muslim Council, Morton Grove, IL, USA, and Citizens for Justice and Peace9
UPR cycle 3: Advocates for Human Rights, Minneapolis, USA, Indian American Muslim Council, DC. USA, Jam9
UPR cycle 4: International Commission of Jurists, Geneva (Switzerland)9
UPR cycle 4: Cultural Survival, Cambridge (United States of America)9
UPR cycle 4: Religious Freedom Collective – India, New Delhi (India)9
OpposedNeutral / not counted
Data table
endnote citations in OHCHR summarySide
UPR cycle 3: the Working Group on Human Rights in India and the UN (WGHR) - a national coalition of 1228Neutral / not counted
UPR cycle 4: Amnesty International, London (United Kingdom)24Opposed
UPR cycle 4: Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative20Neutral / not counted
UPR cycle 4: Human Rights Watch, Geneva (Switzerland)17Opposed
UPR cycle 3: Human Rights Watch, Geneva, Switzerland16Opposed
UPR cycle 3: Amnesty International, London, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland15Opposed
UPR cycle 3: Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact, Chiang Mai, Thailand,13Neutral / not counted
UPR cycle 4: National Campaign on Dalit Human Rights, New Delhi (India)12Neutral / not counted
UPR cycle 4: The World Evangelical Alliance10Opposed
UPR cycle 3: Partners for Law in Development9Neutral / not counted
UPR cycle 3: Indian American Muslim Council, Morton Grove, IL, USA, and Citizens for Justice and Peace9Neutral / not counted
UPR cycle 3: Advocates for Human Rights, Minneapolis, USA, Indian American Muslim Council, DC. USA, Jam9Neutral / not counted
UPR cycle 4: International Commission of Jurists, Geneva (Switzerland)9Opposed
UPR cycle 4: Cultural Survival, Cambridge (United States of America)9Neutral / not counted
UPR cycle 4: Religious Freedom Collective – India, New Delhi (India)9Neutral / not counted
Figure 37.14. Over time: CIVICUS civic-space rating · 1 closed .. 5 open
02.557.51020182019202020212022202320242025CIVICUS civic-space rating 2018: 31 closed .. 5 openCIVICUS civic-space rating 2019: 21 closed .. 5 openCIVICUS civic-space rating 2020: 21 closed .. 5 openCIVICUS civic-space rating 2021: 21 closed .. 5 openCIVICUS civic-space rating 2022: 21 closed .. 5 openCIVICUS civic-space rating 2023: 21 closed .. 5 openCIVICUS civic-space rating 2024: 21 closed .. 5 openCIVICUS civic-space rating 2025: 21 closed .. 5 open2
Data table
CIVICUS civic-space rating
20183
20192
20202
20212
20222
20232
20242
20252
Figure 37.15. Over time: EIU democracy score · score 0-10
02.557.5102010201520202025EIU democracy score 2010: 7.28score 0-10EIU democracy score 2011: 7.3score 0-10EIU democracy score 2012: 7.52score 0-10EIU democracy score 2013: 7.69score 0-10EIU democracy score 2014: 7.92score 0-10EIU democracy score 2015: 7.74score 0-10EIU democracy score 2016: 7.81score 0-10EIU democracy score 2017: 7.23score 0-10EIU democracy score 2018: 7.23score 0-10EIU democracy score 2019: 6.9score 0-10EIU democracy score 2020: 6.61score 0-10EIU democracy score 2021: 6.91score 0-10EIU democracy score 2022: 7.04score 0-10EIU democracy score 2023: 7.18score 0-10EIU democracy score 2024: 7.29score 0-10EIU democracy score 2025: 6.96score 0-106.96
Data table
EIU democracy score
20107.28
20117.3
20127.52
20137.69
20147.92
20157.74
20167.81
20177.23
20187.23
20196.9
20206.61
20216.91
20227.04
20237.18
20247.29
20256.96
Figure 37.16. Over time: Freedom House: Kashmir, Freedom House: Freedom in the World, Freedom House: Freedom on the Net and 1 more · score 0-100
0204060802010201520202025Freedom House: Kashmir 2013: 49score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2014: 49score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2015: 51score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2016: 51score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2017: 50score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2018: 49score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2019: 49score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2020: 28score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2021: 27score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2022: 27score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2023: 27score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2024: 26score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2025: 38score 0-100Freedom House: Kashmir 2026: 38score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2010: 76score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2011: 76score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2012: 77score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2013: 76score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2014: 77score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2015: 78score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2016: 77score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2017: 77score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2018: 77score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2019: 75score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2020: 71score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2021: 67score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2022: 66score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2023: 66score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2024: 66score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2025: 63score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom in the World 2026: 62score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2016: 59score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2017: 59score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2018: 57score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2019: 55score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2020: 51score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2021: 49score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2022: 51score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2023: 50score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2024: 50score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2025: 51score 0-100Freedom House: Freedom on the Net 2026: 50score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2013: 58.8score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2014: 59.7score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2015: 59.5score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2016: 56.8score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2017: 57.1score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2018: 56.8score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2019: 54.3score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2020: 54.7score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2021: 53.4score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2022: 41score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2023: 36.6score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2024: 31.3score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2025: 33.0score 0-100RSF press-freedom score 2026: 32.0score 0-10062503832.0
Freedom House: KashmirFreedom House: Freedom in the WorldFreedom House: Freedom on the NetRSF press-freedom score
Data table
Freedom House: KashmirFreedom House: Freedom in the WorldFreedom House: Freedom on the NetRSF press-freedom score
201076
201176
201277
2013497658.8
2014497759.7
2015517859.5
201651775956.8
201750775957.1
201849775756.8
201949755554.3
202028715154.7
202127674953.4
202227665141
202327665036.6
202426665031.3
202538635133.0
202638625032.0
Figure 37.17. Over time: Global Hunger Index score · score
010203040200020052010201520202025Global Hunger Index score 2000: 38.1scoreGlobal Hunger Index score 2006: 37scoreGlobal Hunger Index score 2012: 28.8scoreGlobal Hunger Index score 2018: 25.8scoreGlobal Hunger Index score 2026: 24.1score24.1
Data table
Global Hunger Index score
200038.1
200637
201228.8
201825.8
202624.1
Figure 37.18. Over time: ghi_score_as_published · score as published in each year's report
0102030402010201520202025Ghi score as published 2010: 24.1score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2011: 23.7score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2012: 22.9score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2013: 21.3score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2014: 17.8score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2015: 29score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2016: 28.5score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2017: 31.4score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2018: 31.1score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2019: 30.3score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2020: 27.2score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2021: 27.5score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2022: 29.1score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2023: 28.7score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2024: 27.3score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2025: 25.8score as published in each year's reportGhi score as published 2026: 24.1score as published in each year's report24.1
Data table
Ghi score as published
201024.1
201123.7
201222.9
201321.3
201417.8
201529
201628.5
201731.4
201831.1
201930.3
202027.2
202127.5
202229.1
202328.7
202427.3
202525.8
202624.1
Figure 37.19. Over time: Hostile acts recorded · events
02.557.5102020202120222023202420252026Hostile acts recorded 2020: 1eventsHostile acts recorded 2021: 1eventsHostile acts recorded 2023: 1eventsHostile acts recorded 2024: 1eventsHostile acts recorded 2026: 2events2
Data table
Hostile acts recorded
20201
20211
20231
20241
20262
Figure 37.20. Over time: RSF press-freedom rank · rank
0501001502014201620182020202220242026RSF press-freedom rank 2013: 140rankRSF press-freedom rank 2014: 140rankRSF press-freedom rank 2015: 136rankRSF press-freedom rank 2016: 133rankRSF press-freedom rank 2017: 136rankRSF press-freedom rank 2018: 138rankRSF press-freedom rank 2019: 140rankRSF press-freedom rank 2020: 142rankRSF press-freedom rank 2021: 142rankRSF press-freedom rank 2022: 150rankRSF press-freedom rank 2023: 161rankRSF press-freedom rank 2024: 159rankRSF press-freedom rank 2025: 151rankRSF press-freedom rank 2026: 157rank157
Data table
RSF press-freedom rank
2013140
2014140
2015136
2016133
2017136
2018138
2019140
2020142
2021142
2022150
2023161
2024159
2025151
2026157
Figure 37.21. Over time: Scholars at Risk incidents · count
02040201620182020202220242026Scholars at Risk incidents 2016: 7countScholars at Risk incidents 2017: 9countScholars at Risk incidents 2018: 11countScholars at Risk incidents 2019: 23countScholars at Risk incidents 2020: 50countScholars at Risk incidents 2021: 17countScholars at Risk incidents 2022: 28countScholars at Risk incidents 2023: 40countScholars at Risk incidents 2024: 24countScholars at Risk incidents 2025: 40countScholars at Risk incidents 2026: 41count41
Data table
Scholars at Risk incidents
20167
20179
201811
201923
202050
202117
202228
202340
202424
202540
202641
Figure 37.22. Over time: URLs blocked under s.69A · URLs/accounts blocked by MeitY under s.69A
02,5005,0007,50020172018201920202021URLs blocked under s.69A 2017: 1,385URLs/accounts blocked by MeitY under s.69AURLs blocked under s.69A 2018: 2,799URLs/accounts blocked by MeitY under s.69AURLs blocked under s.69A 2019: 3,635URLs/accounts blocked by MeitY under s.69AURLs blocked under s.69A 2020: 9,849URLs/accounts blocked by MeitY under s.69AURLs blocked under s.69A 2021: 6,096URLs/accounts blocked by MeitY under s.69A6,096
Data table
URLs blocked under s.69A
20171,385
20182,799
20193,635
20209,849
20216,096
Figure 37.23. Over time: URLs blocked under s.69A · URLs blocked
02,0004,0006,00020222023URLs blocked under s.69A 2022: 6,775URLs blockedURLs blocked under s.69A 2023: 7,502URLs blocked7,502
Data table
URLs blocked under s.69A
20226,775
20237,502
Figure 37.24. Over time: URLs blocked under s.69A · blocking orders
010k20k20242025URLs blocked under s.69A 2024: 12,600blocking ordersURLs blocked under s.69A 2025: 24,300blocking orders24k
Data table
URLs blocked under s.69A
202412,600
202524,300
Figure 37.25. Over time: UN special-procedure letters · letters
0102030201520202025UN special-procedure letters 2011: 22lettersUN special-procedure letters 2012: 8lettersUN special-procedure letters 2013: 11lettersUN special-procedure letters 2014: 10lettersUN special-procedure letters 2015: 15lettersUN special-procedure letters 2016: 10lettersUN special-procedure letters 2017: 13lettersUN special-procedure letters 2018: 27lettersUN special-procedure letters 2019: 21lettersUN special-procedure letters 2020: 18lettersUN special-procedure letters 2021: 23lettersUN special-procedure letters 2022: 11lettersUN special-procedure letters 2023: 11lettersUN special-procedure letters 2024: 11lettersUN special-procedure letters 2025: 13lettersUN special-procedure letters 2026: 10letters10
Data table
UN special-procedure letters
201122
20128
201311
201410
201515
201610
201713
201827
201921
202018
202123
202211
202311
202411
202513
202610
Figure 37.26. Over time: Share India replied to · % replied by GoI
020406080201520202025Share India replied to 2011: 36.4% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2012: 75% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2013: 63.6% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2014: 40% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2015: 40% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2016: 20% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2017: 0% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2018: 33.3% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2019: 33.3% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2020: 22.2% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2021: 26.1% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2022: 18.2% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2023: 9.1% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2024: 36.4% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2025: 15.4% replied by GoIShare India replied to 2026: 10% replied by GoI10
Data table
Share India replied to
201136.4
201275
201363.6
201440
201540
201620
20170
201833.3
201933.3
202022.2
202126.1
202218.2
20239.1
202436.4
202515.4
202610
Figure 37.27. Over time: USCIRF status for India · 2 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = none
02.557.5102014201620182020202220242026USCIRF status for India 2014: 12 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2015: 12 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2016: 12 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2017: 12 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2018: 12 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2019: 12 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2020: 22 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2021: 22 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2022: 22 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2023: 22 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2024: 22 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2025: 22 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = noneUSCIRF status for India 2026: 22 = CPC recommended, 1 = Tier 2, 0 = none2
Data table
USCIRF status for India
20141
20151
20161
20171
20181
20191
20202
20212
20222
20232
20242
20252
20262
Figure 37.28. Over time: V-Dem academic freedom, V-Dem electoral democracy, V-Dem liberal democracy and 1 more · index 0-1
02.557.5102010201520202025V-Dem academic freedom 2010: 0.65index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2011: 0.65index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2012: 0.65index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2013: 0.62index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2014: 0.46index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2015: 0.41index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2016: 0.35index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2017: 0.34index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2018: 0.34index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2019: 0.3index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2020: 0.28index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2021: 0.26index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2022: 0.25index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2023: 0.16index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2024: 0.15index 0-1V-Dem academic freedom 2025: 0.14index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2010: 0.67index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2011: 0.67index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2012: 0.66index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2013: 0.65index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2014: 0.62index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2015: 0.54index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2016: 0.52index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2017: 0.49index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2018: 0.48index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2019: 0.43index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2020: 0.39index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2021: 0.4index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2022: 0.38index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2023: 0.37index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2024: 0.38index 0-1V-Dem electoral democracy 2025: 0.38index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2010: 0.53index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2011: 0.53index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2012: 0.53index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2013: 0.52index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2014: 0.49index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2015: 0.42index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2016: 0.41index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2017: 0.37index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2018: 0.36index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2019: 0.32index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2020: 0.29index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2021: 0.31index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2022: 0.29index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2023: 0.27index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2024: 0.28index 0-1V-Dem liberal democracy 2025: 0.26index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2010: 0.61index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2011: 0.6index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2012: 0.61index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2013: 0.6index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2014: 0.6index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2015: 0.54index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2016: 0.53index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2017: 0.51index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2018: 0.51index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2019: 0.5index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2020: 0.46index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2021: 0.44index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2022: 0.43index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2023: 0.41index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2024: 0.41index 0-1V-Dem rule of law 2025: 0.4index 0-10.40.380.260.14
V-Dem academic freedomV-Dem electoral democracyV-Dem liberal democracyV-Dem rule of law
Data table
V-Dem academic freedomV-Dem electoral democracyV-Dem liberal democracyV-Dem rule of law
20100.650.670.530.61
20110.650.670.530.6
20120.650.660.530.61
20130.620.650.520.6
20140.460.620.490.6
20150.410.540.420.54
20160.350.520.410.53
20170.340.490.370.51
20180.340.480.360.51
20190.30.430.320.5
20200.280.390.290.46
20210.260.40.310.44
20220.250.380.290.43
20230.160.370.270.41
20240.150.380.280.41
20250.140.380.260.4
Figure 37.29. Over time: V-Dem academic-freedom coders · coders
051015202010201520202025V-Dem academic-freedom coders 2010: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2011: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2012: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2013: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2014: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2015: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2016: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2017: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2018: 14codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2019: 12codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2020: 12codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2021: 11codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2022: 11codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2023: 9codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2024: 8codersV-Dem academic-freedom coders 2025: 5coders5
Data table
V-Dem academic-freedom coders
201014
201114
201214
201314
201414
201514
201614
201714
201814
201912
202012
202111
202211
20239
20248
20255

Measure 2. Western philanthropy (funder-level expected value)

Reading 3.2%

₹591 cr H vs ₹17,736 cr R, 2015-26; grant level 20.6

Figure 37.30. Western foundations: money to Opposed-coded work in India, 2015-26, ₹ croreExpected-value coding of each grant (Atlas M1).
IKEA Foundation3,262
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation3,193
Children's Investment Fund Foundation2,137
MacArthur Foundation1,285
Wellcome Trust808
Ford Foundation799
Oak Foundation629
Hewlett Foundation452
Laudes Foundation380
UBS Optimus Foundation370
Packard Foundation285
Rockefeller Foundation281
Bezos Earth Fund273
Open Philanthropy / Good Ventures186
Conrad N. Hilton Foundation157
Data table
₹ crSide
IKEA Foundation3,262Opposed
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation3,193Opposed
Children's Investment Fund Foundation2,137Opposed
MacArthur Foundation1,285Opposed
Wellcome Trust808Opposed
Ford Foundation799Opposed
Oak Foundation629Opposed
Hewlett Foundation452Opposed
Laudes Foundation380Opposed
UBS Optimus Foundation370Opposed
Packard Foundation285Opposed
Rockefeller Foundation281Opposed
Bezos Earth Fund273Opposed
Open Philanthropy / Good Ventures186Opposed
Conrad N. Hilton Foundation157Opposed
Figure 37.31. Hindutva-aligned vs opposed, counted rows (₹ crore)
Hindutva-aligned 590 ₹ crore · 1.7%Opposed 10,915 ₹ crore · 31.5%Transactional 0 ₹ crore · 0.0%Neutral / not counted 23,132 ₹ crore · 66.8%
Data table
₹ croreShare
Hindutva-aligned5901.7%
Opposed10,91531.5%
Transactional00.0%
Neutral / not counted23,13266.8%
Figure 37.32. The 15 biggest of 45 (₹ crore)
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation17,142
IKEA Foundation3,262
Children's Investment Fund Foundation2,137
Wellcome Trust2,065
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation1,718
MacArthur Foundation1,285
Ford Foundation799
Oak Foundation629
American India Foundation503
Akshaya Patra Foundation USA502
Hewlett Foundation452
Laudes Foundation380
UBS Optimus Foundation370
Open Philanthropy / Good Ventures363
The University Of Manitoba360
Hindutva-alignedOpposedNeutral / not counted
Data table
₹ croreSide
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation17,142Neutral / not counted
IKEA Foundation3,262Opposed
Children's Investment Fund Foundation2,137Opposed
Wellcome Trust2,065Neutral / not counted
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation1,718Neutral / not counted
MacArthur Foundation1,285Opposed
Ford Foundation799Opposed
Oak Foundation629Opposed
American India Foundation503Neutral / not counted
Akshaya Patra Foundation USA502Hindutva-aligned
Hewlett Foundation452Opposed
Laudes Foundation380Opposed
UBS Optimus Foundation370Opposed
Open Philanthropy / Good Ventures363Neutral / not counted
The University Of Manitoba360Neutral / not counted
Figure 37.33. The money flow: from whom, through which camp, to where2977 flows counted, ₹44,616 crore.
foundation → Opposed: ₹28,898 crfoundation → Neutral / not counted: ₹12,749 crdiaspora charity → Hindutva-aligned: ₹881 crdiaspora charity → Opposed: ₹816 crdiaspora charity → Neutral / not counted: ₹671 crfaith-based / church agency → Opposed: ₹408 crUS government → Opposed: ₹101 crfoundation → Hindutva-aligned: ₹73 crfaith-based / church agency → Hindutva-aligned: ₹20 crOpposed → Indian grantee: ₹30,122 crNeutral / not counted → Indian grantee: ₹13,420 crHindutva → Indian grantee: ₹974 crOpposed → foreign university South Asia programme: ₹101 crfoundation: ₹41,720 crfoundation · ₹41,720diaspora charity: ₹2,368 crdiaspora charity · ₹2,368faith-based / church agency: ₹428 crUS government: ₹101 crHindutva-aligned: ₹974 crOpposed: ₹30,222 cr67.7%Neutral / not counted: ₹13,420 cr30.1%Indian grantee: ₹44,516 crIndian grantee · ₹44,516foreign university South Asia programme: ₹101 cr
Hindutva-aligned ₹974 cr · 2.2%Opposed ₹30,222 cr · 67.7%Neutral / not counted ₹13,420 cr · 30.1%
Left: where the money comes from · Middle: the camp it strengthens · Right: where it goes
Figure 37.34. The biggest sources, by the camp their money strengthens (₹ crore)
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation19,726
IKEA Foundation3,292
Wellcome Trust2,876
Children's Investment Fund Foundation2,761
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation1,727
MacArthur Foundation1,575
Ford Foundation1,095
CARE USA766
Oak Foundation654
Open Philanthropy / Good Ventures549
American India Foundation503
Akshaya Patra USA502
Hindutva-alignedOpposedTransactionalNeutral / not counted
Data table
Hindutva-alignedOpposedTransactionalNeutral / not countedTotal
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation55.39,73609,93519,726
IKEA Foundation03,266025.23,292
Wellcome Trust01,85201,0242,876
Children's Investment Fund Foundation02,59001712,761
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation01,20705201,727
MacArthur Foundation15.01,31902411,575
Ford Foundation0.6890801861,095
CARE USA076600766
Oak Foundation0638015.8654
Open Philanthropy / Good Ventures0463086.1549
American India Foundation000503503
Akshaya Patra USA502000502
Figure 37.35. The biggest recipients (₹ crore)
BIOLOGICAL E LIMITED1,017
India Alliance (DBT Wellcome Trust India Allianc841
Partner organisations in South Asia/India of CAR766
CARE721
University of Manitoba628
Piramal Swasthya564
International Institute of Information Technolog516
Partner organisations in South Asia/India of Ame503
Partner organisations in South Asia/India of Aks502
Powering Health476
Global Alliance for Viksit Bharat Foundation456
total expenditure of India-only charity (proxy; 397
Hindutva-alignedOpposedTransactionalNeutral / not counted
Data table
Hindutva-alignedOpposedTransactionalNeutral / not countedTotal
BIOLOGICAL E LIMITED0001,0171,017
India Alliance (DBT Wellcome Trust India Allianc000841841
Partner organisations in South Asia/India of CAR076600766
CARE072100721
University of Manitoba062800628
Piramal Swasthya000564564
International Institute of Information Technolog000516516
Partner organisations in South Asia/India of Ame000503503
Partner organisations in South Asia/India of Aks502000502
Powering Health047600476
Global Alliance for Viksit Bharat Foundation045600456
total expenditure of India-only charity (proxy; 6.6738505.81397
Figure 37.36. By country of origin (₹ crore)
US31,630
GB6,291
NL3,493
CH1,565
CA1,221
DK190
SE138
ES46.3
Not stated42.6
Hindutva-alignedOpposedTransactionalNeutral / not counted
Data table
Hindutva-alignedOpposedTransactionalNeutral / not countedTotal
US95418,580012,09631,630
GB11.05,06501,2156,291
NL03,436057.43,493
CH01,539025.91,565
CA8.991,189023.01,221
DK019000190
SE013800138
ES046.30046.3
Not stated040.102.4442.6

Measure 3. Whose experts are cited

Reading 7.2%

Same reading as 4.3 Whose Experts the State Believes.

Measure 4. Gatekeeping: share of the foreign-money channel the State has shut

Reading 50.2%

Active FCRA registrations 29,022 (2015) → 14,466 (Sep 2026, MHA)

Figure 37.37. The 8 biggest of 8 (₹ crore)
LL: Western foundations: FCRA foreign contribution received, all associations22,974
LL: Western foundations: Gates Foundation cumulative to India (M1 flow rows)17,137
LL: Western foundations: MacArthur Foundation cumulative to India1,495
LL: Western foundations: Ford Foundation cumulative to India (M1 flow rows)1,095
LL: Western foundations: Hewlett Foundation cumulative to India419
LL: Western foundations: Omidyar Network cumulative to India364
LL: Western academia (South Asia centres): US Title VI South Asia NRC money (terminated 10 Sep 2025)36.7
LL: Western foundations: Open Society Foundations cumulative to India12.7
Data table
₹ croreSide
LL: Western foundations: FCRA foreign contribution received, all associations22,974Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Gates Foundation cumulative to India (M1 flow rows)17,137Opposed
LL: Western foundations: MacArthur Foundation cumulative to India1,495Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Ford Foundation cumulative to India (M1 flow rows)1,095Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Hewlett Foundation cumulative to India419Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Omidyar Network cumulative to India364Opposed
LL: Western academia (South Asia centres): US Title VI South Asia NRC money (terminated 10 Sep 2025)36.7Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Open Society Foundations cumulative to India12.7Opposed
Figure 37.38. The 2 biggest of 2 (associations)
LL: Western foundations: Active FCRA registrations (comparison)29,022
LL: Western foundations: Active FCRA registrations14,457
Data table
associationsSide
LL: Western foundations: Active FCRA registrations (comparison)29,022Hindutva-aligned
LL: Western foundations: Active FCRA registrations14,457Hindutva-aligned
Figure 37.39. The 10 biggest of 10 (USD million)
LL: Western foundations: All ~38 reporting foundations, India-allocated disbursements597
LL: Western foundations: Gates Foundation India disbursements381
LL: ESG investors and short sellers: OFAC settlement, Adani Enterprises (Iran sanctions)275
LL: ESG investors and short sellers: US v. Adani: alleged bribes to Indian officials ('more than')250
LL: Western foundations: Gates commitments to India-located grantees240
LL: Western academia (South Asia centres): Mittal family gift, Harvard Lakshmi Mittal and Family South Asia Institute25
LL: Western foundations: MacArthur Foundation India disbursements18
LL: ESG investors and short sellers: SEC civil penalties, Gautam Adani 6m + Sagar Adani 12m, no admission18
LL: Western foundations: Ford Foundation India disbursements16
LL: Western foundations: Hewlett Foundation India disbursements7
Data table
USD millionSide
LL: Western foundations: All ~38 reporting foundations, India-allocated disbursements597Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Gates Foundation India disbursements381Opposed
LL: ESG investors and short sellers: OFAC settlement, Adani Enterprises (Iran sanctions)275Opposed
LL: ESG investors and short sellers: US v. Adani: alleged bribes to Indian officials ('more than')250Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Gates commitments to India-located grantees240Opposed
LL: Western academia (South Asia centres): Mittal family gift, Harvard Lakshmi Mittal and Family South Asia Institute25Opposed
LL: Western foundations: MacArthur Foundation India disbursements18Opposed
LL: ESG investors and short sellers: SEC civil penalties, Gautam Adani 6m + Sagar Adani 12m, no admission18Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Ford Foundation India disbursements16Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Hewlett Foundation India disbursements7Opposed
Figure 37.40. Each counted row (percent (avg CY2017-24))Rates and shares are not added up: each row is its own reading.
LL: Western foundations: Ford share of India grants coded LL-power (civil society, rights, media, legal)48
LL: Western foundations: Gates share of India grants coded LL-power8
0100%
Data table
percent (avg CY2017-24)Side
LL: Western foundations: Ford share of India grants coded LL-power (civil society, rights, media, legal)48Opposed
LL: Western foundations: Gates share of India grants coded LL-power8Opposed
Figure 37.41. The 3 biggest of 3 (/100)
LL: Index producers: Freedom House FIW total, baseline77
LL: Index producers: Freedom House Freedom in the World total (Partly Free since 2021 ed.)62
LL: Index producers: Freedom on the Net (Partly Free)50
Data table
/100Side
LL: Index producers: Freedom House FIW total, baseline77Opposed
LL: Index producers: Freedom House Freedom in the World total (Partly Free since 2021 ed.)62Opposed
LL: Index producers: Freedom on the Net (Partly Free)50Opposed
Figure 37.42. Each counted row (percent)Rates and shares are not added up: each row is its own reading.
LL: Index producers: Freedom House revenue from US government grants85
LL: Index producers: GHI share of India score from child indicators83
LL: Index producers: RSF operating income from public grants62
LL: UN rights machinery: India reply rate to SP letters20.6
0100%
Data table
percentSide
LL: Index producers: Freedom House revenue from US government grants85Opposed
LL: Index producers: GHI share of India score from child indicators83Opposed
LL: Index producers: RSF operating income from public grants62Opposed
LL: UN rights machinery: India reply rate to SP letters20.6Opposed

Measure 5. Context: shown for reference, not part of the reading

Figure 37.43. Planning threat of each global player (reach × hostility, out of 100)Each player’s weight out of 5 = threat ÷ 20, unless set by hand.
Western media, academia, philanthropy and rights bodies84.6
USA72
China72
Big Tech53.1
Global Islam47.1
India Abroad: Diaspora & Soft Power40
Others16.5
Global Christianity9
Data table
ValueSide
Western media, academia, philanthropy and rights bodies84.6Opposed
USA72Other
China72Other
Big Tech53.1Other
Global Islam47.1Other
India Abroad: Diaspora & Soft Power40Other
Others16.5Other
Global Christianity9Other

37.6Evidence base

The arena rests on 705 coded units, 3,017 money flows and 266 time-series points. Of the units and flows, 44 are coded Hindutva-aligned, 3,066 opposed and 612 neutral, mixed or transactional. By source grade: 3,611 grade A, 63 grade B, 37 grade C, 9 grade D, 2 grade E.

The full set of rows for this arena, each with its source, is in the Atlas data file (Appendix D).

Notes

  1. g_left_units.csv. ↩
  2. ₹591 cr H vs ₹17,736 cr R, 2015-26; grant level 20.6. ↩
  3. Active FCRA registrations 29,022 (2015) → 14,466 (Sep 2026, MHA). ↩